Newbie tried searching but

New guy here... just now getting into elect. guitar. stats below...
I'm new to guitar and forums and posting photos
I have MIM Strat in HSS config black with white pups and parts
I've been searching SeymourDuncan dot com and Fender dot com and may now have found my ulimate guitar site....(no plug there necessarily)

Question is: What is the best way to Black this Strat out? I can't find any HSS black out kits.

1.) New HB pickup (SH15 or EVO) and black out the rest was my first guess
....due to complexity and the fact that it sounds good now i'm not sure that is answer...
2.) Painting HB cover black - not recommended based on what i've read
3.) Find Fendor HB in black and solder on...not sure how to do
4.) Find shop that will do this for me

Thoughts.....? Much appreciated.

Again, I think my sound and tone is fine i just want the blacked out look. I'm afraid if I put new HB's in my HSS that the SCoils will get drowned. So, any thougts on Mexican HBs vs. something else?

I like fat heavy distorted just as much as clean strat sounds BTW
Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH at Sep 8, 2011,
any thoughts on what to do?

anyone have any experience with the new Duncan Alt 8 SH15s? would they be too loud? i don't need more volume i'm just looking for more meat or fat in sound and don't want to have to replace single coils too.

anyone else out there that has a MIM HSS Strat that has done this or is looking to do something similar? please....tnx !!!
well you will need to either get all new black pickups, or something like this

http://store.guitarfetish.com/hueqhssblpra.html
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.

╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣
you can get pickup covers for the single coils (like this)