Okay, so I've been using DR medium hi beams for several years now, but I think it's time to try out heavier gauge strings. I've heard they bring a deeper, warmer sound, and can increase sustain time. But will I have to adjust with my truss rod and innotation?

edit: heavier as in:

to : 50-70-90-110
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
Last edited by CLIFF_BURTON at Mar 20, 2008,
Yes.

You should do both after changing strings anyways, but ESPECIALLY after switching gauges.

Also, make sure your nut can fit them.
Yeah, I put graphite around when changing strings, and I'm sure my nut will hold them nicely.

Now, I know how to fix the innotation, but I've never touched the truss rod. Should I do this myself, or take it in a shop to adjust it?
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
I guess a lot of people take it into the shop for that, but when I bought mine, some guy in the store showed my dad and I how to do it. Just put the rod on, move it no more than one-quarter of a revolution (90 degrees, in other words), and give it a minute to take effect, then look at it again. Hope that helped.
Quote by Pink Muse
I guess a lot of people take it into the shop for that, but when I bought mine, some guy in the store showed my dad and I how to do it. Just put the rod on, move it no more than one-quarter of a revolution (90 degrees, in other words), and give it a minute to take effect, then look at it again. Hope that helped.

Personally, I would wait longer than a minute, but i'm just paranoid. You shouldn't have to adjust the truss rod a whole lot for the gauge jump you're making, I would think.
Just remember...

"If we can hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

Yeah, when I went from the taperwound .110 E from the Fender strings the .105 Rotosounds, I didn't even need to adjust the saddle or anything.