Alright, so my brother just had his birthday today, and my parents got him a new Mapex (MX i think, im not sure) 5 peice drumset. After we set it up, the thing played spectacularly, exept whenever he hit the small tom (10x12 i think, again im not really sure it cause the snare to make a very loud harsh sound. When we moved the snare to the other side of the set, the tom didn't make it make a sound, and no other tom made the snare make a sound. As a guitarist, my initial reaction was just, "oh why don't you keep it on the other side of the set" but my brother's just so used to the snare being in the standard postion that he can't play the drums right if its not right next to the small tom.
So my question is, how do we get the tom to stop making the snare make a sound, without moving either drum?
Fender Standard American Stratocaster
Boss DS-1
Budda Budwah
Electroharmonix Small Clone
Vox AD50VT
You may have to tighten or loosen the skin on the tom.

But I don't know much about drums.
If I understand this correctly, you're snare is only rattling and if you're playing you probably wont really notice it. If it really bugs you, you could go St.Anger style and switch the snare off
Quote by severed-metal

You're losing interest because you're simply not gay enough. Which leads me to believe you aren't cut out for metal.
well, you can't really move it to the other side. that isn't how people set their kits up. i guess move a little, or, even better, tune them. it seems that the problem might be that their tuned the same and are vibrating sympathetically. perhaps. so alter the tuning on the tom and/or the snare.
my name is matt. you can call me that if you like.
Tuning is generally a good thing to do with a new set of drums.

And try moving the snare just a tiny bit "down" towards the drummer, away from the tom.
Quote by Les_Frederiksen
PlayMadness, you give me hope for mankind.

Quote by Darksucker
PlayMadness - Jesus 2.0

Quote by genghisgandhi