32 26%
Years
6 5%
still suck at it..
76 62%
Voters: 123.
Page 1 of 2
how long?

and what are the things that you use to learn it like a teacher,practising (amount of time), and other tools.
Last edited by The Arch Enemy at Mar 21, 2008,
still suck at it, though i rarely need to sweep pick
Without spiritual mentoring, too much freedom can lead to the soul's decay
- Prince
Yea, took me a while. Especially since im a "self-taught" guitarist.
took me about a year.
Yeah a few months for me. It actually "snapped" one night after about 5 hours of practice...

---------------------------
My Gear:
Ibanez RG350DX
Line 6 Spider III 75W
Ibanez SM7 Smash Box
Dunlop Crybaby Original Wah
Boss RC-2 Loop Station

Own an Ibanez RG series guitar? Join the group.
Geez, whoever can learn sweeping in a month must a be a freakin god or something.
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Quote by Tyranus-3121
still suck at it, though i rarely need to sweep pick

^That's pretty true. It's a neat trick, and it can sound very beautiful at times, but if the rest of your playing is crappy, it wont make it sound better. Not saying Tyranus' playing is crappy, I'm just saying that sweeping won't work in very many situations at all.

My Gear:
Ibanez RG350DX
Line 6 Spider III 75W
Ibanez SM7 Smash Box
Boss RC-2 Loop Station

Quote by M<rockqer>M
Geez, whoever can learn sweeping in a month must a be a freakin god or something.

Start bowing
this thread is pointless, because it is unclear what kind of previous guitar experience people had before they undertook "sweeping"
It's all about feel
i picked it up in a couple of days on 3 string w/taps then 4 and im working on 5 about 1 month later, its not that hard once you have the tequnique down on a 3 string sweep, 4 is hard but easyier than you, but 5 is when it gets tricky, seeing as as i cant do it yet
Sweepings easy, right after i picked it up I figured it out how to sweep

its not rocket science

wait, are we talking about brooms?
to be honest