freshtunes
3,057 IQ
I've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and also play sax, bass, drums, and piano. Is there a big learning curve to the banjo? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.
XxXLuisanXxX
53 IQ
If it it's hard because of fingerpicking, thats dumb. Everyone should be able to play not just with their thumbs, but the middle, index and ring finger. It opens a whole new world of possiblities, take Jerry's Breakdown as an example.
freshtunes
3,057 IQ
Well I've been learning finger picking for a couple months now. Just working out some simple stuff, running through a few lessons and exercises.
mgetz
113 IQ
Its easy if you're half-decent at finger-picking.
Zugunruhe
Guy #2 in Steve Vai's pic
197 IQ
Quote by XxXLuisanXxX
If it it's hard because of fingerpicking, thats dumb. Everyone should be able to play not just with their thumbs, but the middle, index and ring finger. It opens a whole new world of possiblities, take Jerry's Breakdown as an example.
winwinwinwinwinwinwin. this individual wins.

i only fingerpick nowadays. single notes arent enough of a high anymore.

clawhammer is a pretty hard technique, but its damn impressive. anyway, youre gonna learn to fingerpick. its a very cool instrument when well played.
I have no opinion on this matter.
reaper_x
No. Just... No.
717 IQ
i can play the banjo with my teeth and both my hands tied behind my back while
having sex with Carmen Electra in the gym while doing weights.

i know, im god.
SomeoneYouKnew
UG God
2,503 IQ
Quote by XxXLuisanXxX
You obviously know nothing about it.

The fingerpicking is only a small part of the difficulty.

1 - The strings are under more tension than most guitars. The left hand works harder, too.

2 - Banjo is "percussive". It sustains for a much shorter time than a guitar. So parts written for the banjo tend to have many more notes in the same length of time.

3 - There are several different "standard" tunings for the banjo. NONE of them are the same as the tuning on a guitar.