Whats up guys,

I'm still really new to bass guitar, i got mine in July last year but took a BIG break from it unfortunately and im now getting back into it again. I learnt quite a few basic songs on bass and such, chillis, tool, but never been able to afford lessons since im still paying off other necessities! Im really into my hardcore, probably frowned upon by many musicians but oh well! Anyway, i wanna know if there's like a special technique to 'chugging' open strings, like you hear during a lot of metal breakdowns? Also what sort of things (other than downtuning) do i need in order to achieve the heavy, chugging sound?

Appreciate the help dudes and forgive my newbness!
Some overdrive would be cool but get a blend control on it or a blend pedal so you can mix the "wet" effected sound with the "dry" uneffected sound.

Palm mute, use a pick and mute the strings a little at the nut.

Gear:
Fender Standard Jazz Bass
Artec Matrix Pedal Tuner
BBE Optostomp
Boss GEB 7
EHX NYC Big Muff
Ashdown MAG C410T-300
Torque T100BX
GAS-ing for:
Boss SYB5
Behringer Intelligate IG9
I play hardcore/metalcore with fingers, so you dont NEED a pick...if you play with one, cool, you'll have an easier time keeping up.

To get the 'chugg' sound you plam mute. If you play with a pick, use the meat of your picking hand to mute the string. With fingerstyle, mute with your fretting hand by just holding it so you are lightly touching the strings. This will cut off the "sustain" of the note, but not completely stop it.

I actually prefer to let a lot of my notes ring out in breakdowns. Adds a bit more depth to the sound, the guitars mute and then you get the bass note ringing into the silence.

What stuff are you trying to learn?If there's a specific bands sound you are after maybe i can help. Its way better to be original, but learning other people's riffs can help you pick up heaps of new techniques.