Hello all,

I have been playing guitar on and off for the last 11 years. Unfortunetly, for the two years or so, it has been more of an "off" period than an "on" one I guess you could say. Anyway, I really want to pick it up again as I have begun to miss the feeling of getting lost for hours as I just play whatever comes to mind. Only problem is, I sold my guitar to help fund the college expenses. Luckily, I have saved up enough to purchase another one, but I need help as I haven't purchased a guitar in probably nine years.

So, basically I am looking for an electric guitar in the $400-500 price range. My last guitar (and only electric for that matter) was a Fender Strat (Mexico). Also, I had a multi-effects pedal (Zoom GFX-707) that I loved to mess around with and would be looking for another good multi-effects pedal to pair with the new guitar. Preferably one that falls within the $100-200 range.

A couple of things to note; since I live in a college apartment, I will be playing through headphones almost always. As far as music preference goes, I definitely have a large variety of stuff I love to play. Favorites include songs by Smashing Pumpkins, Rage Against the Machine, Led Zeppelin, The Who, and RHCP. However, that's really only the tip of the iceberg. I guess it would be more accurate to say I like to play everything but heavy metal (but hey, that could change as well). So a guitar that is flexible and can still manage to sound equally as good clean as it does with some gain is key to me.

Thank you so much to anyone who can guide me in the right direction. I apologize if this has been answered a million times before. As you can tell I am a noob to this forum, but I did read the stickies/searched, and still felt my situation may be a little unique due to noise restraints and sheer variety.
MIM Fat strat and a microcube.
[IMG]http://img398.imageshack.us/img398/9148/dawhip005jf4.jpg[/IMG]

Quote by SuperSamuraiGuy
Thanks for answering all my question ssguitar