hi. im a newb when it comes to guitar theory. i got this book which has the major scale in A. To work out the scale in the rest of the keys u have to use the formula:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

the scale is:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------4---5----------
----------------------------------------------------------------5----7------------------
-------------------------------------------------4----6-----7--------------------------
------------------------------4-----6------7-------------------------------------------
-------------4----5-----7-------------------------------------------------------------
----5---7-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

can someone explain to me please how i can work out this scale in other keys e.g. B, C.. etc. and also how i can apply this to other scales e.g. lydian, ionian etc.

thanks!!
To work it out in other keys, it literally is just move it up or down the fretboard.

The 5th fret on the E string is A, which gives the scale it's name. To do a C, you'd start on the 8th fret in the same pattern, to do a D you'd start at the 10th fret, etc.
What do you know about intervals? Do you know what 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 means? It's okay to say "no," but if you don't know, speak up, because you'll need to understand the basics before you get into more complex stuff.

Also, you have given one acceptable way to play the scale, but scales are not box positions or patterns. The major scale exists all over the neck.
Why do we even have a theory sticky?
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
even so, just look at the different scales and compare the differences yourself.. can't expect other people to show you every single thing