hi guys, i've just got a new amp and i've no freaking clue how to use it. i mean, turn on and plug in the guitar is easy. but how the **** do i get the right sound ? i play metallica music right now but i want to move to other metal stuff too. problem is, i dont freaking know how to use the damn thing. all the knobs and all. i know it sounds stupid to all of you, but i'm new to the guitar, especially electric guitar. so could someone help me? thank you!
if you're new don't start with metallica.
get a teacher.
Quote by Tvr
get a teacher.

settings thread.....its stickied
Quote by gregs1020
Brett has been saving for a splawn for 4 years
countries have been toppled in the time it's taking, revolutions won got a black pres

yawn

Quote by bubb_tubbs
When he finally gets one it'll probably be televised like the Berlin Wall coming down.
The end of an era
wip the "gain" all way up to the maximum make shure the volume is off then switch it to ure prefrence, then the other nobs play with them but make shure there all below mark 5 or 4 so about half way turned the little mark should be pointing up if you go above ull go into overdrive and if your playing metallica u want distortion... this is the basic way of making a distortion effect on a normal amp... if this is wrong then ull probbley have to tell us what amp yuou have
Well to get a Metallica sound, you need to "scoop the mids". Which basically means you dial the knob that says midrange on it to about 4 or 5. The treble and bass then need to be placed in at around 7 or 8. The gain, or distortion, or whatever your amp has, is then turned to full, then back off slightly on the gain as you get better at playing and your ear becomes more accustomed to the different frequencies.

I'd stick to one sound for now if I were you, or just mess around yourself for a while. Thats how I learned, just through my own means.
Quote by Tvr
get a teacher.

Pfft teachers are a waste of money.

Teach yourself.
Quote by Untitled001