I have been playing bass for around 2 years now, and of late have been considering getting a 5 string.

This is where i get stuck, i have a bass in mind - Yamaha RBX375 - my 4 string is the the 4 of that, but what i don't know is what the advantages of a 5 are over a 4.

Bit of a n00b question really...

I generally play Rock / Metal

Any help would be much appreciated

Cheers

Kenny
It has a low B string which gives you different places to play notes. and lower notes to play(without detuning)
it's nice to have, but you can definitely get by without it... if you plan on playing with a 7-sting guitar player it be very usefull
If you're playing rock and metal, you'll most likely having a place for the low B. Hitting the low D is one of my favorites, and though you can just tune to drop D for that, I think it's pretty nice to have the choice between open E and fretted D.
A lot of bands in the metal genre play with drop tunings (C drop for example) and with a 5-string, you don't have to tune down your bass. But if you play with fingers, you'll need some time to get used to it because the strings are much closer together.
Thanks for the help guys, the next part to my quest is what would people recommend to me?
I know the golden rule is to play before buying but, i would like some suggestions as to what to try. I have had a couple already

Ibanez K5 - Fieldy Sig. Bass

A higer level RBX than what i already have.

Anything else?

I am looking to spen roughly £300 - £500 on this.
Please help
Thanks in Advance
Kenny
i recently bought a new five string, a Hudson Projectbass. I only know of two places that sell these, but if you ever have the chance to try one, do it.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
Not desperately but it would be good for the whole versatility factor. Since i started playing i always thought of getting a 5 string but it never happened, but now i have got a chance to do so. Surely it can't hurt?
Quote by BestBassistInMI