Page 1 of 2
Our guitarist is into newer alternative crap like AFI and Taking Back Sunday, our drummer plays mainly jazz in our school jazz band, and I'm a classic rock/heavy metal bassist.

Is there any way we can come up with a compromise?
Quote by DeathBySpoon
Experiment?

Agreed.

Put a little bit of each into your style, and see how it works out.

Edit:
Quote by Flying Couch
C O H B C, I approve of your sig.

*High-five*

Edit2: Wait, C O H B C?
Last edited by C O B H C at Mar 23, 2008,
Of course. Realize that no one person is going to control your bands' sound, and allow your styles to mesh.

Incidentally, I've found that drummers tend to be worthless unless they have at least a little experience in jazz. Having a jazz drummer is a good thing.

C O H B C, I approve of your sig.
no, you're all doomed.

but seriously, it's nice to get a clash of styles sometimes. if you work well together, you might be able to fuse a couple things, and create an original sound. That or.. no one agrees on anything, and it's useless to keep them as band members for the direction you want to move towards.
LaLaLa ZoomZoomZoom
Get a new guitarist, problem solved. Jazz and metal mix fairly well if you're both decent musicians. Or you can start a grindcore band with your drummer where all he does is blast beats and then you just majorly distort your bass and play random notes.
Just play together, jam and such until you start to see some good sounding stuff appear. If theres absolutely no chemistry, find other bandmates. Nobody is saying that you HAVE to stick with these guys.
Sometimes it helps to have different tastes in music in bands. Different opinions can create a unique sound. If you do decide to write with each other though, remember to respect each other's opinions and hear what each of you has to say.
play ur own music instead of making it sound like bands u individually like?
Jazz pop-punk metal? Hello, amazing

Quote by zeppelin42