Okay guys i hear quite alot of people nowadays on youtube saying oh yeah this is played in the key of C major and in the key of A major and in the key of F Major.

What does this mean?

I know i am a noob, when it comes down to theory. (puts hands in the air)
it means that there are a certain selection of notes that will sound good when played in conjunction with a chord, and the rest will sound odd. however, if you play the notes in the right places, etc, the "odd" notes may not sound odd.
Does anyone remember laughter?

Manuel, please try to understand before one of us DIES.

my gear:

Gibson LP Standard
Epiphone SG
Classical guitar
Peavey ValveKing 112
Marshall MG15
BOSS ME-50
A key (I'm talking about diatonic playing) consists of seven notes which we adhere to while playing.

For example, in the key of C major, we have the notes C D E F G A B.
This means that when playing in the key of C major, we'll play only these notes.

Of course, auxiliary and passing notes are not counted.
You simply MUST check out my music on
Reverbnation Downloads available here
Myspace Streaming Only

Especially for fans of Tool, APC, Avant-Garde, Ambient music, rock instrumentals, and fans of music in general. Will not disappoint.
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
Last edited by metal4all at Mar 24, 2008,
since you ask about majors i will answer about majors and not put any minor stuff in here(even though it is all relative).

first music alphabet, there are 12 notes

A, A#/Bb, B, C, C#/Db, D, D#/Eb, E, F, F#/Gb, G, G#/Ab, A

-you pronounce '#' as sharp, you pronounce 'b' as flat(A# -> "A sharp", Ab -> "A flat"
-yes, there are 5 notes with 2 names(A#/Bb, C#/Db, D#/Eb, F#/Gb, G#/Ab)
-these are called accidental notes(or accidentals)