Page 1 of 2
Hey guys,
So Im buying a new amp this Thursday after saving up some money and using my months pay which I get this Wednesday. I need some help, to give me an idea of what I should go for because I havent a clue.

I've been playing for about 4 years but ive been using a ****ty Roland Cube 15 since day one. This has been okay for bedroom practise and getting better etc... but im starting a band and want to gig so I need a good quality (and loud) amp. And I would really appreciate some help.

I mostly play blues, rock and modern indie... A few examples would be Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, Beatles, Kings of Leon, Queens of the Stone Age and The Strokes.

Oh yeah, I'll have about £250 which is apparently about $500.

Thanks for any help.
Manchester United Est. 1878

Do you DIG?

Cos I DIG.
I'd say a used Peavey Classic 30. You might need a big muff or something to get QOTSA- esque distortion, but it should handle everything else pretty easily.
Quote by hrdcorelaxplaya
I'd say a used Peavey Classic 30. You might need a big muff or something to get QOTSA- esque distortion, but it should handle everything else pretty easily.

+1
Dissonance is Bliss

Signal Chain:
Carvin CT-4
Ibanez TS-9
Carvin Quad-X
TC Electronics G-Major
Mesa/Boogie 2:90
Ear Candy BuzzBomb

Member #4 of the Carvin Club
What about the amps loudness? Does the wattage have anything to with it?

Do you DIG?

Cos I DIG.
Peavey Classic 30 FTW.

^Not quite sure what you're asking, but yes, classic 30's are loud.
I guess the wattage has somewhat to do with loudness, yes.

30 watt tube is louder than 30 watts solidstate.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
Quote by screwup30
What about the amps loudness? Does the wattage have anything to with it?