I have been writing/ composing for a while, but I have never attempted to orchestrate anything.

I had the brilliant idea last night to take elements from a few Pink Floyd (mainly on the run, any colour you like, echoes, money, welcome to the machine, and careful with that axe eugene) and arrange a sort of flowing medley for a large ensemble (i'm not sure yet what insturments).

I am planning to start by transcribing all those songs above, then arranging them into the composition I want, then working out individual parts.

Any suggestions?

btw, I am in highschool, for a high schooler I have a lot of musical knowledge and a very good ear, but it's still highschool.
I have nothing witty to say here at the moment

Expect a change soon
Last edited by Narwhale at Mar 24, 2008,
I mean since I have never arranged anything before, are there any particular things I should be aware of/ look out for?

Expect a change soon
Remember to be mindful of instrument's ranges and the skill level of the players you'll be arranging for.
You need to tell me what instruments. I find orchestration to be incredibly difficult. But again, it depends on what instruments. And you'll need to know what those instruments can/can't or would be too hard to do. It's a big pain.
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
Digitech GSP 2101/Mosvalve 962/Yamaha S412V
My Imagination
Well that's the problem.
The only ensemble i normally play in is the highschool band,

Needless to say, these kids arent the greatest, which is why i am hesitant to write for that group.

As that is what I am familiar with though, i will most likely be writing for concert band.

Expect a change soon
Make sure to take into account the Bb and Eb instruments and transpose accordingly.
Wikipedia any instrument and it will tell you the range.
Quote by Cameronrobson
If a barn owl was fighting a tiger and flew away, it was just looking for a more awesome place to fight. This happens all the time on Dragon Ball Z.