Hey guys,

I'm a total guitar newbie, and about a month ago I was given a Fender Stratocaster (not a Squire, so it's pretty decent I think) and a Fender practice amp as a gift from my Dad after I was talking about guitar a lot around him. I'm totally stoked about it and everything, but the problem is my favorite guitarists and songs have the Les Paul sound... like really thick and ballys with lots of sustain, you know?? Slash, Billy Duffy from The Cult, Joe Perry.... that sort of deal.

I think getting the sound I like the most will help me stick with guitar over the long run. Right now it sounds way too clean and twangy no matter how I fiddle with the amp. I don't know anything about pedals or amps or anything.... So, can I do anything to get a heavier, thicker, more Les Paul-y I guess sound out of my Stratocaster? Is it possible? I'm not about to tell my parents to take it back.
A Fender Frontman 15G.

I have no idea what s/s/s or h/s/s means haha .
Quote by Ant000
A Fender Frontman 15G.

humbucker beside the bridge humbucker = h, s=single coil

you wont be able to do much with that frontman, look to upgrade your amp
Quote by Ant000
A Fender Frontman 15G.

There's the problem. Have you tried playing with the drive select button? Also s/s/s means all single coil pickups and h/s/s is one humbucker and 2 single coils.
Humbucker

Single Coil
Founder of the EHX Users Guild
My Photography

Quote by Kyle-Rehm
Please don't tell me I'm the only one that clicked this thread thinking I would learn how to make my guitar sound like a grizzly bear.
ok click on the distortion channel...get a pedal like the big muff and have fun finding a sound you like
Oh okay, yeah it's all single coils for sure. So S/S/S.
Last edited by Ant000 at Mar 24, 2008,
I would get a new amp and new pickups (or just another guitar ).
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89