yeah im an asshole for starting a what to buy thread. sue me. i looked on the beginner bass guide and all the amps were pretty small as far as sound went. i only got my bass a little while ago but ive progressed pretty well and i need an amp for playing in my band. currently i dont have one at all and my guitarist has a 50 watt vox valvetronix. ive figured i need at least as much or more then him. problem is i only have like 200 USD to buy an amp with. i need it relatively soon. my band is playing hard rock-metal and i want a tone sort of like cliff burton when hes not going nuts with distortion and wah. im a complete noob with bass amps so i have no idea what to do really. please help me bass forum, or i will have to rehearse with a fender frontman guitar amp. or my dad will go and buy me a behringer which is even worse!!!
btw, if i get a cab without a head will i still be able to use it? as far as i can gather it will just be at full volume all the time. if can create a really simple volume control would i be able to use it with a cab. im probably completely wrong here but im frantic to find an amp very soon.
wow, no reading FAQ and double posting...sorry mate, but get the water can ready, flames are on the way....

anyway you could just get something like and ashdown perfect 10 or 5 : 15..coz dont forget that at most venues you'll be mic'd through the house PA...if ur certain u need a head and cab then ur best bet is used, theres no way your gonna get anything of quality for 200 bucks new
HI THERE
no i did read the faq, but they were all small and i reckon i need something bigger. im probably just being a prick, but most people say bassist needs to have more wattage then the guitarist. and hes got 50 so i figure i need 100 or something.
I'm not gonna be an asshole and report you, so welcome