Ok i am very new to recording and my band wants to start getting our songs recorded. But I really don't know where to start. Do I record all of us at the same time or seperate or what? I really don't know. And what do I use to record it? Help would be very very appreciated.
your going to need some cash if you even want to start talking about recording....a DECENT recording at that....

start looking at some cheap mixers ie. behringer

instrument mics(sm57's, two nice stereo condensors for drum overheads, a good kick mic (a plus if you can use this for bass too=]), large diaphragm condensor for vocals...

theres lots of options and price ranges...tell us more like your budget, what kind of music, etc..
Quote by evening_crow
As far as i know the only liquor that should not be stored after opened is wine, and even then it's mainly the french one. American wine usually has conservatives in it to stop this.
I was in a band for a little bit, and I think that if you don't have top notch recording equipment the best way to do it is to do record your instruments one at a time (with that instrument plugged directly into the computer), and have the rest of your band play along so you get a sense of timing and you don't screw up. I've also found that using electric drums plugged directly into the computer can get some really nice sounds, instead of relying on some crappy mics near a real drum set.

So here's what I think you should do. If you play guitar or bass, either do a set up like this:

guitar -- (pedal) -- amp -line out- computer in

where the guitar goes into a pedal (or not), into the amp, then use the amp's speaker jack or line out jack into your computer's external sound card's line in or your computers microphone jack (in that case you'll need to use a 1/4" to 1/8" converter from radio shack or target, the recording quality will not be as good if you go into the mic input however)