I became interested in guitar in about 3rd grade, got my first guitar in 6th. I'm currently a senior in HS, and currently own a Martin DXM, but here's the thing

I feel I've made progress from when I started to my first few chords. But that's about it. I feel I've been repeating myself, trying to write my own songs on 3 basic chords (from good riddence) since they were my first chords ever learned.

I've taken lessons, but it really doesn't help. I learn it, then forget it 2 days later. Also the teacher doesn't listen to the music I like (Hardcore..yeah i know)

My question is, has anyone else ever been stuck in this loop? becuase it seems I'm getting nowhere with my playing.

I've had numerous offers to play as fill-ins for my friends band, but I refuse, and never tell them that I'm too "noobish" and I don't feel I'm ready, since they know I've been playing for 6+ years.

I know some people are going to say "practice practice practice". My guitar is in my hand for about 2-3 hours a day, I try to learn different songs I like but that takes too much patience.

Please help!
Um you pretty much pointed out what your problem is in the last sentence. Don't expect things that are impressive to be easy to learn, get some patience! 2-3 hours a day of just fiddling around with stuff you already are totally comfortable with will not help you nearly as much as 30 minutes a day of concentrated struggling with new material (of course it is good to review old things, but it shouldn't be the majority of your practice time). Find a song you think is really cool even if it sounds difficult and just work at it until you figure it out. If you find yourself stuck, maybe ask a friend if he can help you out. Sounds like you expect to be good at guitar because you've played for a long time, but unless you keep pushing yourself you won't make progress.