I became interested in guitar in about 3rd grade, got my first guitar in 6th. I'm currently a senior in HS, and currently own a Martin DXM, but here's the thing

I feel I've made progress from when I started to my first few chords. But that's about it. I feel I've been repeating myself, trying to write my own songs on 3 basic chords (from good riddence) since they were my first chords ever learned.

I've taken lessons, but it really doesn't help. I learn it, then forget it 2 days later. Also the teacher doesn't listen to the music I like (Hardcore..yeah i know)

My question is, has anyone else ever been stuck in this loop? becuase it seems I'm getting nowhere with my playing.

I've had numerous offers to play as fill-ins for my friends band, but I refuse, and never tell them that I'm too "noobish" and I don't feel I'm ready, since they know I've been playing for 6+ years.

I know some people are going to say "practice practice practice". My guitar is in my hand for about 2-3 hours a day, I try to learn different songs I like but that takes too much patience.

Please help!
Don't worry too much about not being ready and just join a band. If you aren't ready by the time you join one then you'll have plenty of motivation to become ready very quickly. Seriously, you have nothing to loose.
Gear
2002 Ibanez RGT42
Marshall AVT150h + JCM900
Buncha pedals
if you are practicing for 3 hours per day, you should have a lot of ideas. maybe learn some scales or some new songs? or try to write your own stuff and leave other bands' material for another time.

a key element to coming up with ideas is o be confident in your own playing, so just pick up your guitar and play the first thing that comes to mind. i find that listening to my favourite bands helps, as i am influenced by them, and over time you shake off the style of one particular band and your playing develops on its own.
Does anyone remember laughter?

Manuel, please try to understand before one of us DIES.

my gear: