Ok guys I need help...I know there have probably been similar threads to this but sometimes you just need fresh opinions and ideas...

So I have been playing guitar for like 12 years...on and off. I stopped for about a year once...and I used to tour regularly so my chops and technique practicing went on hold for a couple of years while we were all dedicated and ****. So now I have time out from bands and I want to practice, but I can't seem to think of cool things to expand my horizons...

I have looked at shred books (Petrucci etc) and it's not really for me...I don;t want to practice scale and fragments to a metronome 8 hours a day...

Sooo what I'm saying is does anyone have some cool ideas of stuff to learn or practice? Something innovative and interesting...different..you know..just I guess, exciting! I love guitar and playing but I need new things..all the time!

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance dudes...

cheers.
This is a lie...no reason why...right from the outset
Classical and Jazz, definitely.

I find Classical guitar highly addictive and fun.

What's that guy's name...Carlos Valmos? He does that crazy but meloic acoustic stuff.
Quote by neidnarb11890
the chinese take-out place my family always ordered from gave you chopsticks, so as a kid it was fun to try & eat with chopsticks
now i just use a fork, 'cuz nothing is fun anymore & i just want to shovel food into my mouth to fill the void
Cool thanks I'll check him out! In the guitary sense of course....
This is a lie...no reason why...right from the outset
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jwm-vxGgFf4

Here you go, man.

Carlos Vamos is the name.
Quote by neidnarb11890
the chinese take-out place my family always ordered from gave you chopsticks, so as a kid it was fun to try & eat with chopsticks
now i just use a fork, 'cuz nothing is fun anymore & i just want to shovel food into my mouth to fill the void
maybe try some slide guitar or fingerpicking.