Lately when trying to put in little improv licks between changes or trying out solo chord-melodies, i find that I'm at a disadvantage. I'm still learning Jazz and I find the more regular guys locked within certain positions(unless they're soloing of course) So instead of asking those guys and possibly embarrassing myself I'll ask here:

I'm usually all over the place to suite my style of playing or I use kinda "made-up" positions suiting style/song. But again, Jazz styles are new to me and I can't "think Jazz" on the spot(yet ). Either that or I use classical positions for classical(duh) and whenever those work better.

So what box-thinking is most conducive for simplistic chord-melodies? Is it CAGED or what?

I've also tried to base my positions off of arpeggiations(sp?) which seems closest but I still don't know.
Hope I asked it clearly.

Disclaimer: This is not a "how do I improvise in Jazz" question. Just thought I'd mention that.
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
Digitech GSP 2101/Mosvalve 962/Yamaha S412V
My Imagination
if you are going to box at all for jazz (which you really shouldnt) you should used Caged.
My sig used to be so awesome it got me banned
Quote by Your_Dad
if you are going to box at all for jazz (which you really shouldnt) you should used Caged.
I guess caged huh...also, remember I'm talking about this in a specific application, not soling or improv.
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
My Imagination
Quote by KryptNet
Lately when trying to put in little improv licks between changes or trying out solo chord-melodies, i find that I'm at a disadvantage. I'm still learning Jazz and I find the more regular guys locked within certain positions(unless they're soloing of course) So instead of asking those guys and possibly embarrassing myself I'll ask here: