Okay, I've just finished writing my first song but it sounds nothing like how I intended it to. Does anybody have any tips on writing rock songs?
well do it the way you dont intend it to be, then maybe it will turn out the way you intended it to be.
if its your first song then dont be surprised if it isnt at Led Zeppelin's level.

did you write it with a band? i think if you write with a band, or just jam something out, it will sound more "rock" than if you did it all by yourself, esp. first time. just keep writing, it will sort itself out.
Does anyone remember laughter?

Manuel, please try to understand before one of us DIES.

my gear:

Gibson LP Standard
Epiphone SG
Classical guitar
Peavey ValveKing 112
Marshall MG15
BOSS ME-50
We'll dude dont worry, i've been writing music for over 2 years and i've only just got my music soundin exactly how i want it

My advice, dont set out with what you want in mind, just let it come naturally
Quote by chillrock
if its your first song then dont be surprised if it isnt at Led Zeppelin's level.

did you write it with a band? i think if you write with a band, or just jam something out, it will sound more "rock" than if you did it all by yourself, esp. first time. just keep writing, it will sort itself out.

I wrote it on my own yeah. It's in my sig if you're interested but I was just wondering if there's certain scales or chord progressions commonly used in rock.

[EDIT]
Now I'm thinking it's probably because of the instruments I chose and the lack of a bassline and drums...
Quote by Ziggums
[EDIT]
Now I'm thinking it's probably because of the instruments I chose and the lack of a bassline and drums...

That's a reason! Pentatonics, major, and minor scales are commonly used in rock. What do you want it to sound like? Whatever you want it to sound like, listen to a band/artist that sounds that way and see what they're doing.
Quote by kirbyrocknroll