Alright well just to say I'm a total noob at guitar and just play my own little tunes on it i need to learn how to tune it myself. Sorry for even asking but this but i have my tuner now and when i tune it i have no clue which string goes with which letter. I have a 6 string acoustic. Starting from the top which string is which, I'm pretty sure the top one ( bass string ) is E. im unsure about the others . I was hoping you all could help me out. Thanks in advance!

-Dan
alright... look the top string on this diagram is representing the thinnest string and the bottom represents the thickest.

E--------------------------------------------]
B--------------------------------------------]
G--------------------------------------------]
D--------------------------------------------]
A--------------------------------------------]
E=========================]
"You've got to trust your instinct
And let go of regret
You've got to bet on yourself now star
'Cause that's your best bet" - 311
oh one more question......when i strum the string do i have to hold a fret down or just strum it? thats for when im tuning it. also how many hertz do i set my tuner to?
alright im having the hardest time tuning it right now, its not picking up the strings as the right ones. Its saying like A is G and E is C. Arghhhh the aggrivation
From the string closest to the ceiling to the one closest to the floor as you are holding the guitar, sitting up normal like, the notes are EADGBE.