So a few weeks ago at work(I'm a electrician) I stepped into a section of floor that happened to not be there. I was rewiring a bathroom that had part of the floor cutout for the plumber to do his thing. I stepped down off the ladder and around it to pick something up. Normally, I'm very aware on the job. Unfortunately, at this moment my mind was not all there. As I stepped around the ladder, I put my right foot down where there was no floor. I obviously fell thru the space and landed on the floor joyse squarely across my rib. It hurt like hell and it took probably 5 minutes before I could get a full breath. Even then, I knew it was broke. I sounded like a dying walrus. Xrays confirmed #11 rib on my right side was indeed broken. Not just fractured.

Describing it is making me squeamish. So I'll stop.

Forward two and a half weeks.

I've been riding the couch faithfully. Trying not to do anything but heal(I'm 35 so it takes a bit longer nowadays). So, to keep from losing my mind, I have been playing a ton of guitar. Really sitting in and practicing scale exercises an such. Trying to build more accuracy and speed. Finally going thru modes and scale shapes. Well, kick me in the ass, it's working. I've never been a super disciplined practicer. But I think that has finally changed. I figured out how to enjoy the monotony of stupid practice. Which is, that it's not monotonous at all. Just something you should do faithfully and enjoy your time and ability to do it at all. I'm kind of humbled by this.

The other and probably more important benefit is this.... I haven't had a cigarette since I got hurt. I couldn't. I was getting over a cold anyway and coughing with a broken rib isn't fun. So broken bone aside, I actually feel a lot better. Stronger. In more ways than just physical.

The moral here is this;

Don't smoke cigarrettes.

Practice guitar faithfully.

Enjoy that you can play at all.

Watch where you step