I've already installed new tubes for the amp, but I was curious if anyone knows of any pedals to try out with the overdrive channel?

Recently I've taken a Boss MT-2 Metal one distortion pedal and cranked the volume and scooped the gain to create a kinda-sorta preamp distortion effect to blend with the gain channel of the amp. I was wondering though if it would be a good idea to get an overdrive pedal instead of doing this? I've never used an overdrive pedal before and I'm assuming they're pretty much used with an amp's overdrive/gain settings rather than the clean channel.

I'm wanting a nice warm thick sounding distortion. I like bands such as Dream Theater, Symphony X, Megadeth, Metallica, Evergrey...pretty much metal, progressive metal, and progressive rock.

Thanks for any comments I receive.
Okay... You are BLESSED with a tube amp, no need to cover it's sound with an MT-2, get yourself some heavy overdrive pedals and let that thing shine!
Current Rig>>Jackson Phil Collin Signature Guitar/Ibanez Artcore>>>Modded Dunlop Crybaby>>>TS-9DXModded>>>Rat kit>>Octavia>>CE-20>>DD-7>>>Musicaman HD-120
If an OD pedal is what I truely need, can any of you point the way to some pedals that would best suit my needs?
maybe try to add more mids if you have them low

also, using an od with the gain low makes a bigger difference than i thought. it really does help
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.

╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣