Howdy. I was thinking about getting 2 monster cables...one to go from my guitar into my effects chain and the other to go from the effects chain to the amp...but I seem to remember hearing that your sound is only as good as your weakest cable or something to that degree...so I was wondering, does this mean I need to get super high quality short cables going from pedal to pedal in order to not be putting the monsters to waste? Any input on this? Thanks.

PS: I'm somewhat new to electric guitar stuff as I've been doing acoustic things with a friend for a long time (just now got a drummer and bassist), so go easy on me if I'm saying something stupid and feel free to suggest anything.
Don't buy monster cables. They are a company run by a bunch of assholes.

To most people, as long as the cable isn't uber cheap, it'll do just fine.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
First off, don't buy too much into all the cable hype. There are cables that are distinctly better than some other ones, but most of the time they won't provide a noticeable difference over most good quality cables available. Also note that Monster's are generally maligned by a good portion of the guitar playing public as their plugs are slightly oversized, the cable itself is average at best, they're overpriced, and they have uncool business practices.

According to Lava Cable's "Cable Summit" article, Planet Waves cables outperformed the top-of-the-line Monster SP-1000.
ESP LTD EC-256 and a Fender Deluxe VM
get zaolla cables, they are awesome!!!!!

in response to your question, good quality cable can drastically reduce unwanted noise, great for the studio. I've also noticed it clarifies your tone a bit more, compliments your strokes and gives it a nice effect.