I am a drummer first and foremost and am just learning guitar and writing some songs

I'm not too hot on scales, keys and general theory really at the moment so any help in telling me what scales can be used over the top of this riff to create a solo would be great

any scale that is in A I think.
but do what I do, play just on feeling, no thinking just play and improvise that is ten times better than memorizing scales and stuff
but that is just my opinion
Quote by NoobMuncher3000
BRILLIANT!

Quote by weemansyndrome

(__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
wahay

thank god for the total guitar scalebook that came wid this months issue.....its all in A
Quote by noxios
any scale that is in A I think.
but do what I do, play just on feeling, no thinking just play and improvise that is ten times better than memorizing scales and stuff
but that is just my opinion

Ignore this^

"Feeling" is not an inherent property of music, which is structured sound. Theory explains why musical concepts sound the way they do, which will allow you better express yourself with your instrument because you are no longer restricted to trial and error.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Quote by Archeo Avis
Ignore this^

"Feeling" is not an inherent property of music, which is structured sound. Theory explains why musical concepts sound the way they do, which will allow you better express yourself with your instrument because you are no longer restricted to trial and error.

well, it works for me. from time to time I have a wrong note that doesn't sound in the solo or riff but it is all a matter of practise. I don't say that scales and theory are bull**** but I just don't use them. to me it's all a matter of feeling.
Quote by NoobMuncher3000
BRILLIANT!