I'm very new to playing the guitar but I'd like to practice on some easy songs that I enjoy. Mostly I've been working on my chords but I'd like to change it up. So the next time a person asks me to "play" something I don't just sit there playing E, A and D chords.

The question I have is about the Dave Matthews "Space Between" Tab.

It looks just like a standard E chord but with a "4th fret e". I don't see how I'm supposed to reach that fret. I can't even seem to get it with my thumb so I'm lost on how to reach it. How am I supposed to reach that?

Side Question:
I've seen all the threads about "Easy Songs" with things like Black Hole Sun and everything but I'd much rather learn an easy song of someone I like. So I was hoping I could be pointed towards an easy song (if they exist) of Dave Matthews, Jack Johnson or John Mayer maybe.

Thanks in advance
Daughters by John Mayer maybe. He doesn't have many/any easy songs.

For that DMB song, you would use your pinky. You'll get used to stretching. But... that's an awful tab for this song. This one is better:
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/tabs/d/dave_matthews_band/the_space_between_ver2_tab.htm
You do not need that added g# note that you're having a hard time with.
I'm not a fan of facts. You see, the facts can change, but my opinion will never change, no matter what the facts are. - Stephen Colbert

Thank you Link.JohnIrving
I'll give that new Space Between tab a try and check out that John Mayer song.
That sure is one heck of a pinky stretch. Guess I should work on some finger flexibility for the future.