I have been playing bass for about 4 months now. I kind of suck but I am able to play so stuff alright. I have been teaching myself. I have made myself a habit of playing the bass by plucking only with my index finger. With my other hand I can use all my fingers to "occupy" the frets so there isn't a problem with that hand as far as I know but with my plucking hand I can only use my index finger to play. I've heard that James Jamerson used only his index finger to pluck and that was his style of playing. Is that habit of plucking with the index finger alone a bad thing necessarily? What can I do get rid of this habit FAST? I am able to play at a decent speed but for some reason I think I would do better by using my index and my middle finger alternating between each note.
that is generally a bad habit. Just keep trying to work in the other finger, you'll eventually get it. It's all repetition.
When you play make yourself use the other finger, even if you just play some slow tunes then work your way up. You'll kick the habit.
Ahh thats not a bad habit I think, as long as you feel comfortable hitting your strings that way its all that matters.
its not nessecerly a bad habit as it is an unpracticed method. that can be quite a good thing to have once you've learned how to play with both fingers. sometimes alternating fingers can mess you up if your keeping a steady beat, while as just one finger will assure you will stay steady. work on 2 fingers too though, its good to have both.
top 7 bands to see before i die

sublime (seen)
nirvana (seen 2 times)
the beatles (seen)
jimi hendrix (seen)
bob marley (got tickets)
the doors (buying tickets soon)
frank sinatra
creed (seen 9 times)
ray charles (seen)
It's not a bad habit if you don't need the other finger.

Some songs you will, though. I suggest just practicing playing straight 1/4 notes over a simple root note progression (any one, but I suggest just for ease the simple dooh-wop progression D, B, G, A).