Im gonna be straight up honest. Ive played guitar for a while now, actually since 4th grade and im a freshman, and This is probably the worst thing to admit, but I still, use a Squier Strat single humbucker. And my amps pretty much crap.

With that said, Im not that rich either, would you guys reccomend a 150-200$ amp or a new guitar, thats DECENT i cant straight up pay 1,000$ for a guitar.. just wont happen.

Like ive played it everyday since I started and its possibly the best thing in my life, but its about time to upgrade..

But yea, either a new guitar or amp.

Also, I usually replace strings when they break, but I hear i should replace them like every month, what kind should I get? and what does changing them \exactly do?
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Peavey Triumph 112 120W all tube
Takamine EG333C
Last edited by MxPxPanic at Mar 29, 2008,
Why the $800 price difference between amp and guitar? If the Squier is just horrible to play, get a new guitar, but if you don't like your tone, get a new amp (prefferably tube).

I usually just wait until something snaps 'fore I replace my strings, so change them if you don't like the feel of them or their sounding dull. For string brands, D'addario, Ernie Balls, DR, someone at your local music store would be helpful as well when picking up some strings. Being new strings, when you change them, your tone isn't going to be as dull, they'll be cleaner as well.
anyone else?
Epiphone Les Paul Custom
Peavey Triumph 112 120W all tube
Takamine EG333C
Of you like the feel of your squier, I'd say wait a while(I know, easier said then done) until you can afford at least a Mexican Standard Strat or maybe a bottom of the line Epiphone. $3-400

Any guitar in that price range isn't going to be any different then your Squier. And nothing embarrassing about it, I've know at least 2 poor and very talented guitarists that sounded great using Squiers.

And also same for the amp.
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
Digitech GSP 2101/Mosvalve 962/Yamaha S412V