I'm still new at the guitar and songwriting and have a few questions. When rummaging through the song chords on this site and seeing where chords are placed throughout the song, I was wondering how to do songwriters know where to place the chords or when to create new chords in a song.

I see that the same chord, lets say "E", used through an entire verse, but yet the next line has 3-4 chords. Is it to emphasize the words or just time to change chords for the song?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense, but when do songwriters know to change the chords in a song their creating?
It's really by ear. If you want to get into the theoretical stuff, you can look into common progressions and phrasing.

There's standard stuff like AABA ABAC(each letter standing for a phrase)

It's also nice to see it verse, chorus, bridge, as separate movements. But, your ear is your best friend
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
Digitech GSP 2101/Mosvalve 962/Yamaha S412V
My Imagination
Quote by KryptNet
It's really by ear. If you want to get into the theoretical stuff, you can look into common progressions and phrasing.

There's standard stuff like AABA ABAC(each letter standing for a phrase)

It's also nice to see it verse, chorus, bridge, as separate movements. But, your ear is your best friend

+ 1
shred is gaudy music
Would you be so kind as to explain what you mean by ear? Thank you!
Quote by DominoK
Would you be so kind as to explain what you mean by ear? Thank you!
Oh, simply what sounds good!! That simple. It's music!
Gear:
Inflatable Guitar
My Imagination
some people sing the lyrics and figure out the chords, some other people write a chord progression first, and sing accordingly.

if you are in the key of E Major, you got:

E Major, F Minor, G Minor, A Major, B Major, C Minor, D Diminished, and E Major

and a typical chord progression with an authentic cadence would be:

E Major --> A Major --> B Major --> E Major