Page 1 of 2
Hey, I've been playing now for about 4 years and haven't really gained a large amount of callouses. I have read on the forums that Eric Clapton uses rubbing alcohol to dip his fingers into 3 - 4 times a day... I was wondering, what else can I do / use to gain callouses because i can't get any rubbing alcohol.. I was thinking something like nail polish remover if it would do the same thing as rubbing alcohol but I don't know.. Please please help..

Cheers
Last edited by frusciante_funk at Mar 30, 2008,
lol wut?
'08 Gretsch White Falcon
'98 Fender USA Deluxe Tele
'79 Greco Les Paul Standard
Airline Stratotone Crafter GAE8

A bunch of funky pedals

Handwired 50 Watt Plexi Lead Clone w/ Orange 4x12
they don't have rubbing alcohol where you live? and other than rubing your fingertips on a rough surface I have no idea...
Quote by david_highland
they don't have rubbing alcohol where you live? and other than rubing your fingertips on a rough surface I have no idea...

do u mean like getting like 1200 grit sand paper or sumthin??
or buy those grip things from guitar center or just stop being a puss and play guitar more
Quote by frusciante_funk
i play gat like 3-4 hours a day.. my fingers arnt hurting im jus wanting to get callouses. what about nail pollish remover? whould that do the same thing

You could try brine. Bare knuckle fighters use it to toughen up their knuckles
Quote by frusciante_funk
do u mean like getting like 1200 grit sand paper or sumthin??

well I suppose that could work, but playing your guitar should have the same effect. I hardly have any callouses either cause I play on such light strings but if it's an option having a spare guitar with heavy guage strings on it might be good...and I don't know about where you're from but where I'm from you can buy rubbing alcohol at pretty much any store...
Quote by mckraf
how can you not get rubbing alcohol?