I'm new to playing guitar, I recently bought a Yamaha F310 acoustic. I keep it in it's case when i'm not playing it, and I keep a close eye on the humidity levels with a hygrometer (I have an oasis humidifier in the sound hole) during winter. So basically I want to make sure it's in good condition and stays that way. I'm probably being a little overkill for a low cost guitar, but I can't see how it can hurt.

Right now i'm using a damp microfibre cloth to clean the outside of my guitar, but I was wondering if there are any polishes/waxes I should consider using, and if so, which ones would work best?

I know there are a few threads discussing waxes/polishes, but I was wondering if anyone can suggest anything specific for this type of acoustic. Is there anyone out there with a F310 that uses a polish/wax, if so can you recommend one that works well, or should I just continue using a damp cloth and stay away from the stuff?
You can wax it as long as the guitar has a high gloss finish. Satin's and flat natural finishes should be handled differently. I use Gerlitz products. They've been around a long time. I remember them way back when I was a teenager, and I'm 45 now. Their wax is excellent, as is the Guitar Honey for fretboards. Here's the link:

http://www.gerlitzguitarproducts.com/index.html

The big thing about wax is that you never want to overdo it, and you don't want to be putting it on very often. 2, maybe 3 times a year is all it should ever need to keep it looking great. In between, just wipe it down with a damp, soft cloth like you're currently doing.
do not use anything that contains silicone period. all i use is my microfiber but my finish is varnish so as said above it is different. just read the label and make sure theres no silicone in it it will hinder your ability to do any finish work on the guitar at a later date.
Quote by anita prs bad