I have been playing an acoustic guitar for a few months now, my wife got it for me off of ebay for like 20 bucks brand new....yea I know it was a horrible idea and my fingers are thrashed from it, but I have been able to pick up enough off of it that I now have a deep desire to learn even more, and this time I must go electric...I know that I need to really find a guitar that fits me, but I was woundering if anyone could help narrow my choices....I'm looking for something that is good for beginners probally around 200 bucks are so... Are the starter kits that come with a guitar and amp and such worth it or they just a joke? Thanks for the help in advanced
despite what ppl say squires suck spend a little more and get a mex strat if ur looking for a strat.
The starter kits are not all that good, usually either you get a good guitar and a bad amp or the other way around.
Sorry to say that, but if want to start out on something decent and reliable you'll have to invest between 300$ and 400$.
A decent beginner guitar is the Ibanez GAX30. (go to www.Ibanez.com to check it out.)
When it comes to amps, take a look at the roland cube 15.
Don't buy a 10 watt amp, their sound is remarkably inferior to 15 watt amps, while the price is nearly the same. And before anybody suggests it: Peavey practice amps sound horrible.

EDIT: You can buy a guitar and an amp for 250$ combined. But you will reget it shortly afterwards and you'll buy better equipment anyway.
starter packs are great
but only if your startubg
cause you get a low quality guitar and a little bitty amp
Quote by TheQuailman
Peavey practice amps sound horrible.

What? Peavey SS amps are some of the best I've ever heard.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Solder fume huffer σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

Electronic Audio Experiments
Roland Cubes are nice practice amps. Nice rectifier model for the mettles.
Gear:
- Bugera 333
- VJ & VJ cab
- Jackson JS30
- TS9