I got a small question about scales that's been bugging me for a long time. I tried reading the Guitar Theory sticky thread, but I can't seem to find the answer there either (or if it is there, then it probably means didn't understand it).

Anyway, I was looking at the Pentatonic scale, and I read that each scale has different 'shapes', and I was pretty much confused at the function of these 'shapes'.

Is the shape bound to its positioning? Like, is the first shape of the Pentatonic scale bound to only to the first three frets and the open notes? Or are these shapes interchangeable? If they are interchangeable, what makes it so?

Also, how can you do you derive chords from a scale? Like, what chords to play to go along with a scale? I know there are websites and stuff for this, but I wanna know the theory beside it, because I assumed, for example, the A major scale would probably go well with the A major chord, but how do the other chords fit in?

I'm a huge beginner in theory, and reading all these stuff about root notes and scales and shapes and modes are kinda making my head hurt.
Right...

Your box shape is purely positional so that you can reach all notes of the scale you're playing in without moving your hand to another position.

Deriving chords from a scale is done thus:

1) Choose your scale
A Major

2) Examine the notes of that scale
A B C# D E F# G# A

3) See which chords contain those notes
A Major: A C# E, B Minor: B D F#...

You should end up with
A Major
B Minor
C# Minor
D Major
E Major
F# Minor
G# Diminished
Scales are not shapes, they are collections of notes. You can play those notes in any order, anywhere on the fretboard. Chords are generally constructed by stacking thirds, but this is an incredibly complicated subject and be found in the Theory Sticky (read it)