Hey guys i'm kinda new at electric guitar

what are effects pedals used for and how do they work?

I thought the amps had all the effects on them

THANKS!!
There's a bunch.

Distortion makes distortion. I don't how else to describe it lol. Amps usually do this.

Reverb.. Room does this.

Delay.. Makes echoey sounding dealios.

Phaser.. Goes Wooooosshhhhhhh like the 80's.

Wah.. Listen to Kirk Hammet solos for this one.

Usually amps don't do all this, except for a few. Though you can get multieffects units that'll do most of it. Or just buy individual pedals.
pedals just change the sound of the guitar, just by stamping on them. They work by modifying the signal created by your guitar's pickups.
They make it easier to change sounds mid song, i.e from clean to distorted
Quote by ldnovelo2
That guy Rhys90 is one of the greatest computer genius out there and we must found a religion to honor him
some amps have effects on them. it's easier to get pedals, though, because you can just step on it. i think these guys summed it up pretty good, there are so many effects out there, but the most common ones are stuff like distortion, wah, reverb, etc.
I use a boss ml-2 metal core its awesome but if you buy an amp with enough distortion you do not really need any pedals.....mabye a wah
Quote by Post?Organic
Phaser.. Goes Wooooosshhhhhhh like the 80's.

Loi, love that description.
Pedals are great fun, but they can't make you play better. If you have the playing down, then go to some music stores, and drive the sales guys crazy. Try as many as you can before they give you that "I'm done with you look". Pedals used well can help give you a "signature" sound, and that is why you have to know what you want to sound like. Nobody here can tell you that, unless you just want to be another sheep guitarist.
Quote by chokmool