What's 60% of 60%?

Ok, that may be really simple but I am EXTREMELY dense at maths!

To put it in context, I am in my first year at uni (suprising, eh) and you need 40% to pass the first year. On my coursework, I got 60% on all of them, except one where I got 70%.

The course is weighted so it's 60% coursework and 40% exam, how much do I need to get on the exam to pass?

Cheers m'darlings
ur too thick to be doing a degree
Quote by ukuleleftw
When is beating your cat not justified?

Quote by Gaz_m2k5
This is almost as stupid as when someone thought there might be a UG warehouse where all the tabs are stored.

July 8th, 2007 @ Wembley - Best day ever
Quote by broady15
ur too thick to be doing a degree

Thanks ^^

I actually do English language and linguistics, so working out my exam grade is the most maths I'll ever have to do, ever. So up yours
im so glad i never have to do maths again.
now extra flamey
What the hell is taking 60% of 60 going to do for you? That doesn't calculate a damn thing.
Member #3 of the Breaking Benjamin Fanclub PM Electric7 to join.
Quote by smb
36%.

Thanks!

I think still studying may be a good idea though, incase you're wrong. Knowing I've already almost got a pass takes some of the stress off though! Thanks guise =]

Quote by pavel
What the hell is taking 60% of 60 going to do for you? That doesn't calculate a damn thing.

my course is weighted:

60% coursework

40% exam

I haven't done the exam yet, and in the coursework I got an average of about 60% ( a bit higher actually, 63%ish)

And I need to get 40% to pass the year, so working out how much out of a possible 60% I already have tells me how much I have left to get from the exams.
You need a bit less than a 10% to pass. Getting a 10% will give you a 40% grade overall.

PENGUINEDIT:
.6 * 60 = 36 (36 points out of the possible 60)
4/40 = .1
(.1*40) + (.6*60) = 40
= 40 points out of 100 possible = 40%.
Last edited by gibsonpenguin at Mar 31, 2008,
Quote by gibsonpenguin