so ive been tryin to learn this intro ever since i started playing, the picking pattern is just to damn hard and i can never get it up to speed and i never see any improvement in my speed check it out and see if you have some advice

-----------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------
------10------9----10------10-----9----10----------10------12-----10-----10----10----9---9-
-7-7-----7-7----7-----8-8-----8-8---8-----12-12------12------12----12-----10----10--10--10-
-------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------

its played 1/8th notes at 240 bpm. the picking just seems impossible to push that fast, and i dont know what else to do. please give useful advice and not just to practice, ive been practicing it for probably over a year
Practice slowly ( with a metronome if possible) then speed up gradually. You'll be able to play it in no time! Maybe even record yourself now and practice for a week or two and record yourself the improvement should inspire you even more.
Have you only been practicing that? try doing something else, something similar, maybe not so fast, but with a similar picking pattern. or better yet come up with your own. Indeed i am going to say it just takes practice, and more practice. Try moving on from it and come back to it later if you cant play it now.

(mind you if you are only Alternate picking it becomes a little harder, have you tried economy picking?)
Quote by Bloodsick
Practice slowly ( with a metronome if possible) then speed up gradually. You'll be able to play it in no time! Maybe even record yourself now and practice for a week or two and record yourself the improvement should inspire you even more.

i have been practicing slow and speeding up with metronome for that year i was talking about lol so its taking me a little more time than no time at all