Page 1 of 3
I was wondering how many people on this site play an orchestral classical stringed instrument. I've been playing violin for over 10 years myself. I've got a $7000 German made violin and it's ****ing amazing for the price. Bow is $800 from the Meinig workshop in Pennsylvania. I'm currently learning Ziguenerweisen, by Pablo Sarasate. It's the most fun piece I've had in a long time (I liked Mendelssohn, but I needed to get away). In case you don't know what Ziguenerweisen is, it's to violin as Through Fire and Flames by Dragonforce is to guitar. But far better.

So, fellow muscians, step forward. What kind of instrument do you play? What piece are you working on?
Jean Luc Ponty used to be a god. That's really all I can contribute.
Quote by vintage x metal
I love you =] I can't say I was very fond of you when we first started talking because you trolled the hell out of my threads, but after talking to you here I've grown very attached to you.

Yeah, write to my fanclub about it, honey.
Third movement is amazing. First movement is a bitch to get in tune. Second movement is beautiful. Third movement moves like lightning. I need to get my artificial harmonics and left hand pizz up to speed and clear, so I can perform in the state competition. If I win, I get $3000 and a chance to play with the Richmond Symphony. Woot.
Sarasate in general is pretty fun to play, have you ever tried Navarra? It's a duet, and, although I hate the piece with a passion, it's fun to play. I'm playing a similar piece to Ziguenerweisen at the moment, Tzigane by Ravel. It's not so similar stylistically, but has similar roots. I'm also playing Poeme by Chausson, it's a great piece, and a bit of a challenge.
I played cello until very recently, I've now lost interest and haven't really got the time to do it any more. I'd been playing about 10 years.
Quote by Parabellum
Bow is $800 from the Meinig workshop in Pennsylvania

And I thought 50p for a pick was expensive
Quote by National_Anthem