After reading a couple of threads, I noticed a guy said it was a mistake to practice only songs. You must also learn techniques... Say, if I was to only learn techniques and later utilize it on songs? Would that make a difference? (good or bad?)

And what techniques would I have to learn actually?

We're talking from beginner to advanced, and if someone could write up (only if you've got time or actually want to do it ) a sort of 'list' it would be highly appreciated (and bookmarked ;D).
you should really practice both. you need to start learning skills and then apply them to songs that you like, so you can really get into them, and won't get bored.

from absolute beginner, start learning the frets, work on picking, learn plenty of chords. take it a little more advanced from there, alternate picking is probably the next thing to learn, followed by power chords, and from there it really starts molding around the type of music you listen to.

there are certain skills only used with certain types of music, but you might want to learn them anyway:

palm muting (used in a wide variety of music)
tremolo picking (used mostly in hard rock/metal)
tapping (used in a wide variety of music)
sweep picking (used mostly in metal)

hope this helped!
Quote by afi22929
you should really practice both. you need to start learning skills and then apply them to songs that you like, so you can really get into them, and won't get bored.

from absolute beginner, start learning the frets, work on picking, learn plenty of chords. take it a little more advanced from there, alternate picking is probably the next thing to learn, followed by power chords, and from there it really starts molding around the type of music you listen to.

there are certain skills only used with certain types of music, but you might want to learn them anyway:

palm muting (used in a wide variety of music)
tremolo picking (used mostly in hard rock/metal)
tapping (used in a wide variety of music)