So I recently discovered that the way I have been holding my pick for almost four years..is wrong. I would hold it with the flesh of my index, making an "okay" sign with my right hand. It's really irritating because I've become so accustomed to the wrong hold.

But anyways I've started trying to change my grip on the pick the proper way, with the side of the index finger...and it really, really sucks. Everything I try to play turns to crap, I can't alternate pick evenly, I can't change the "feeling" of the pick when I want to, the pick keeps slipping out slowly because I can't readjust it fast enough yet, and I can't control the tension in the pick.

My question is for anyone else that had this problem in their guitar lifetime and made the switch...How did you do it? Immense patience? Any specific exercises that help? I need some pointers because when I look at my guitar now I just become really depressed /emo
Quote by alexsoul
So I recently discovered that the way I have been holding my pick for almost four years..is wrong. I would hold it with the flesh of my index, making an "okay" sign with my right hand. It's really irritating because I've become so accustomed to the wrong hold.

But anyways I've started trying to change my grip on the pick the proper way, with the side of the index finger...and it really, really sucks. Everything I try to play turns to crap, I can't alternate pick evenly, I can't change the "feeling" of the pick when I want to, the pick keeps slipping out slowly because I can't readjust it fast enough yet, and I can't control the tension in the pick.

My question is for anyone else that had this problem in their guitar lifetime and made the switch...How did you do it? Immense patience? Any specific exercises that help? I need some pointers because when I look at my guitar now I just become really depressed /emo

yeah i made a thread about it like las tweek.