ive been playing for 4 years now... 5 years on april 28.

im questioning my skill because i know one of my friends how r really amazing on bass but hes been playing guitar for 7 and bass for 3.

basicly i can play the whole The Awakening by Les Claypool and most of Country Music by Stu Hamm.

also i can do YYZ like nearly perfect and YTSE Jam too.

is tht good for only playing for 4 years and slapping for 1 year and tapping for like 4 months? thanks
First off, please use the edit button. Its not that hard (its right there on the lower right hand of your post).

Everyone progresses at different levels and in different areas. The only person you should be judging yourself against is yourself. Plus as bassists, we have different areas of expertise. I for one can state that I am a strong bass player in R & B and blues, and fingerstyle funk, but I lack certain cred when it comes to slap and tap. Its all relative, son.

And if you are bragging its not a nice trait anyway...Perfect playing is a very relative term as well.
no hes asking if hes good enough for his time playing because he feels imcompetent around his friend whos been playing bass for 2 years less then he has, the way i see no because he played guitar for a long time, and while chords are different and the sound its basically(most of the time mind u) playing a guitar with 4 strings instead of 6, so his experiance at guitar has trnaslated into a ngood pickup of bass
As long as you are setting goals for yourself and working towards them, you are doing fine. Again, comparing yourself to others can be a dangerous head game. Play for yourself. You will always be better than yesterday and not as good as tomorrow.

and F8, beyond the theory, guitar skills do not equate to an automatic bass prowess. But that's an argument for another day and another thread...
Quote by watchingmefall