Hey all, new member here; first post!

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years on and off, looking to get back into it. I want to build/mod a strat-copy guitar, and I'm looking for a good starting point. Basically I'll be throwing away the pickups, tuners, bridge, electronics. But I'd like something with solid frets, a good neck, and a good body. I need at least a bridge humbucker and would prefer not to route the body for one (I'm not much of a wood-worker).

Second question: what's the best non-trem bridge for putting in strats?

Any suggestions for a reasonably priced strat-copy, especially if you don't care about the electronics and hardware? Thanks!
Last edited by tuj at Apr 2, 2008,
I might be criticized for this, but what about a squier? That could solve your body problem, and maybe the neck as well.
I've had squier strats and in the past, and aside from a very early Korean model (which I understand the first 500 or so were made from US Strat parts; they shipped them over to see what the Koreans could do and were impressed?!), I have had trouble getting a good setup out of the squiers, which I believe is largely a neck and/or neck fit issue. But I'm not a setup expert or Fender historian by any means. :-)
I'm also open to the short-scale fenders too (Mustang, Jaguar) and clones. I tend not to like the Gibson style necks. I know that's weird since the Gibson scale length is in-between...but that's just how if feels for me. Either small or big, but not in-between.
I own a early 90s Peavey Predator(american made not the exp imports).It has the best feeling neck ive ever played on a cheap guitar.Very solid poplar and its routed for humbuckers.They are relativly cheap, if you can find one.I know they are always on ebay but i know i dont like buying guitars without playing them.If you feel ok about ebay than its not hard to find a predator, if not then go to pawn shops and look.

Also ive heard that SX guitars are pretty nice with upgrades.