It might sound a little stupid, but I don't really understand why there is an A minor chord, but no A minor note.

I was trying to sort of 'understand' the A minor pentatonic scale, I know the A major chord can fit (because the Am pentatonic scale is made out of A notes), but I wasn't sure if A minor chords could fit as well.

Anyone mind explaining? Or giving sort of a link to where they (extensively) explain all these stuff to a total newbie?
Last edited by guessmynamebich at Apr 2, 2008,
The note A is just A. It's the notes that go with it that dictate as major or minor.

It might be a bit easier to understand it when you look at a piano.
The minorness comes from an interval between two notes. On their own, notes are neither major nor minor.

In an A minor chord, the notes are A C E. In an A major chord, the notes are A C# E. The only difference is that one-fret shift from C# to C. C# is called the MAJOR THIRD of the A major chord and scale and C is called the MINOR THIRD of the A minor chord and scale.

Regarding the A minor pentatonic scale, it works fine over Am, so ignore whoever told you otherwise, or at least call them out on it. Over the A major chord, it shouldn't work, but it does; many rock and blues players choose the minor pentatonic over a bluesy (but major!) progression because it sounds a little meaner than the major scale.
Because minor refers to intervals, not individual notes...the key to the natural minor scale is the minor third, the third note of the scale is a half step lower than the third note of the major scale and that changes the whole feel.

Here's a simple example.

Major third interval with C as the root.

e|---
B|---
G|---
D|-2-
A|-3-
E|---

Minor third interval with C as the root.

e|---
B|---
G|---
D|-1-
A|-3-
E|---

Intervals are constant...anytime you have a 4 semitone (4 fret) interval between 2 nores it's a major third, anytime you have 3 semitones it's a minor third.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62