what would be 2 good pickups(ive heard something about 81/85 or whatever from EMG?) to put in my schecter gryphon? for that i would play mainly metal, and metalcore

and also i am planning to buy a HSS strat to play some pop punk stuff(blink-182 boys like girls etc) thats what my band plays and the schecter is a bit to heavy and not for the pop punk style. so what pickups should i put in that? i was thinking either Gibson Dirty Fingers, SH-5 seymour duncan custom, or SH-8 invader in the humbucker position.
and maybe some single suggestions as well? i heard that hotrails were good.

help? suggestions thx?
For the Gryphon, yeah, the EMG 81 and 85 ought to be your thing.

For the strat, I'd go with some Seymours, but I hate single coils, so I can't give specifics.
Quote by xfallchildx
becuz im a noob i have to ask. are the 81 and 85 active or passive? active means battery right?
Yes, they're active, with batteries and all.
Quote by xfallchildx
becuz im a noob i have to ask. are the 81 and 85 active or passive? active means battery right?

Pretty sure they're active and yeah, run on a battery.
Quote by xfallchildx
what would be 2 good pickups(ive heard something about 81/85 or whatever from EMG?) to put in my schecter gryphon? for that i would play mainly metal, and metalcore

and also i am planning to buy a HSS strat to play some pop punk stuff(blink-182 boys like girls etc) thats what my band plays and the schecter is a bit to heavy and not for the pop punk style. so what pickups should i put in that? i was thinking either Gibson Dirty Fingers, SH-5 seymour duncan custom, or SH-8 invader in the humbucker position.
and maybe some single suggestions as well? i heard that hotrails were good.

help? suggestions thx?

For the Gryphon I would suggest either the EMGs (81/85 or 85/85) or the good ol' Seymour Duncan JB/'59 combo. Duncan Blackouts are sweet too. I really don't know much about single coils, so I can't really help you there.
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Ibanez RGA121