Hi, I'm a very novice guitar player, and I usually mooched my guitar picks off friends and acquaintances. Right now I am using a very flimsy thin pick with a nice textured grip that I got from a friend that plays acoustic. I thought it would be good for me, but man did I find out how wrong I was!

So I tried doing a search when I met some really pro players in real life who used I believe a red Dunlop Nylon Jazz III. It is a very small pick with a very sharp tip and rounded top and a bumpy logo on it. I read that these pick types from Dunlop are generally very thick and small which is very good for shredding and speed playing and making more articulate sounding notes.

I just had a problem finding the differences, because their names have so many interchangable terms.

Is there any difference between these?

Dunlop Nylon Jazz III (Red)
Dunlop Nylon Jazz III (Black)
Dunlop Ultex Jazz III (Yellow)
Dunlop Stubby Jazz

The Stubby Jazz look nice, assuming they are small like the other ones and not regular pick sized. They also have a textured grip indentation and are thicker and smoother/rounded instead of flat? which should help for speed, but sometimes the thickness is a problem and people say the pick wears down due to the material.

Anyone with experience using these or other of the small, thick, and sharp picks for fast playing? Sorry, it's hard to describe. Thanks.
i use dunlop stubbies, there reasonably good for playing fast. the edges dont wear out so it'll be the same shape from start till you lose it :S
The difference between black and red is in the texture, the black is a bit rufflued whereas the red has a clean, smooth surface. Some argue over the stiffness of each but I think that's just psychic things.

There are XL JazzIII's too that have the same shape but are bigger. I personally don't like them at all.
Personally, I use Dunlop Big Stubby 3mm (thicker than the bassist in my band LOL).