Hello.

I've been playing classical guitar for about a year seriously, and electric for about 4 years. I'm fluent in reading music, but need to get my classical technique up. I especially have trouble with right hand fingering, when doing scale-like fast passages. I only alternate between my index and middle finger, and sometimes my ring finger. What is the correct technique for doing scales, and fast passages (16th note, 32nd note, ect) on a classical guitar, which fingers should I use, in which order? perhaps point me towards a site or something, if I dont improve on this I'll probably end up taking some lessons at my conservatory, but at $55 an hour, I'd really rather not. Thanks.

Bonus question: What's the difference between a classical guitar and a flamenco guitar?
As far as I am aware it is find to use just your index and middle finger...That is about all I ever see and all I use for the scales and all....but then again I am a novice classical guitarist, I may be wrong.

As far as I know a classical and Flamenco guitar are the same.
it depends on how many notes you're playing on a string and how often you go from one string to the next, and if you want to go really fast I recommend you use your ring finger too since it'll put less strain on your others to keep up with the speed and allows you to do faster combinations, and when you change strings I recommend you start them with either your index or your ring, but using just your index and middle is fine if you can do it fast enough

also, a flamenco and a classical are basically the same, except that flamenco guitars sometimes have wooden tuning pegs since they allow for faster musical attacks and a pick guard-esque plates on both sides of the strings to protect from the wear and tear by the percussion-like hits on the body of the guitar (golpes) used in flamenco
Gear:
Ibanez RG121
Ibanez GTA15R Amp
red Allegro nylon-strung acoustic of unkown model

Quote by Mechanix