my set up is a fender stratocaster with texas special pick ups plugged into a fender deville 212. My dilemma is as follows; I have been playing for a couple of years now and my musical taste varies. The person i trained with was very much into southern rock hence my set up. Where i struggle is when i wish to play anything but ZZ Top. I often use the neck pickup and never use the bridge pick up. i'm wondering if i switched out the bridge pickup for say a seymour duncan hotrail shr-1b, can i still use the neck and middle pickups with success. For example if i split the bridge and middle pick up is going to be a crap sound seeing how it is the texas specials middle with the duncan bridge. Any advice on this would be great . I know my biggest problem is settling on a type of playing style but I am a realist no one will ever sound like SRV. thanks for any help
Last edited by mathman51 at Apr 4, 2008,
Yeah, man. My strat's got a hot rails in the bridge and the other two are standards. Works fine for me, and I Play blues and metal.
Do you feel warm within your cage?

And have you figured out yet -

Life goes by?
Quote by Hydra150
There's a dick on Earth, too
It's you
Quote by PPPussycatt
you should focus on finding YOUR sound not someone elses

he didnt say he was trying to sound like someone else noob.

anyway, yes a hotrail would work fine. it will give a hotter, more humbucker-like sound for playing heavier styles of music
Originally posted by primusfan
When you crank up the gain to 10 and switch to the lead channel, it actually sounds like you are unjustifiably bombing an innocent foreign land.

╠═══════╬═══════╣
τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ
╠═══════╬═══════╣
Quote by InanezGuitars44
anyway, yes a hotrail would work fine. it will give a hotter, more humbucker-like sound for playing heavier styles of music