3rd major + 3rd minor + 3rd major = major7 chord

right?
so, a Cmajor7 chord is built up by these notes
C D# F# A#

right?

and I can play it like this

Cmaj7:2314XX

right????

i'm kinda new at this. please help me out.
thanks
Quote by ATM*
cool, two reports in one thread. You, sir, are a superstar.

*reported*

*again*

i'm a superstar
right?
C D# F# A#

C-E-G-B

It consists of a root, a major third, a perfect fifth, and a major seventh.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
Theres a chord bulding lesson in the lessons section of this website....

But in the meantime whilst i look for the link....

a minor third is 3 semitones and a major third is 4 semitones.

EDIT: t/s check either this link http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/chords/what_chords_are_in_what_key_and_why.html or this one http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/chords/guide_to_chord_formation.html
Last edited by demonofthenight at Apr 5, 2008,
owh okay. thnx.
so it is played like this
Cmaj7; X3200X
Quote by ATM*
cool, two reports in one thread. You, sir, are a superstar.

*reported*

*again*

i'm a superstar
Quote by grunger
eh im more about just making chords, i still know the key but i really dont know about 4th and 5ths etc

im happy
maybe its time to learn?
Quote by demonofthenight
maybe its time to learn?

i get lessons but my teacher doesnt teach me theory.

Hes got the idea that guitar is all feel and good ears...
Which is good cos im another feel dude. ehhhhhh ill learn over time i guess
Quote by grunger
i get lessons but my teacher doesnt teach me theory.

Hes got the idea that guitar is all feel and good ears...
Which is good cos im another feel dude. ehhhhhh ill learn over time i guess

So... looking into a new teacher yet?
Quote by Avedas
So... looking into a new teacher yet?