Hi all,

I would like to know if what i have understood is accurate and complete.

Firstly i am an intermediate level guitarist wanting to break free from chords and power chords to solos and improvisation.

question 1
what is the key or root or base chord?
ans - Its the first chord of the melody. eg : E C D -- KEY is in E.

question 2
Can any combination of chords sound melodies or are there only certain groups of chords which sound good?
and - I DONOT KNOW.

question 3
What notes can be played while soloing over the chord group E C D?
ans - All the notes that lie in the E scale ( any one of the 7 forms) because E seems to be the key or the root note.

( i am really very confused over the above question so if someone could elaborate on what exactly a key is and what notes one is allowed to play while soloing over some chord progression)

Please let me know if my understanding is correct and complete............ if there are other explanatioins please include them.

thank you one and all.
Hi all,

I would like to know if what i have understood is accurate and complete.

Firstly i am an intermediate level guitarist wanting to break free from chords and power chords to solos and improvisation.

question 1
what is the key or root or base chord?
ans - Its the first chord of the melody. eg : E C D -- KEY is in E.

question 2
Can any combination of chords sound melodies or are there only certain groups of chords which sound good?
and - I DONOT KNOW.

question 3
What notes can be played while soloing over the chord group E C D?
ans - All the notes that lie in the E scale ( any one of the 7 forms) because E seems to be the key or the root note.

( i am really very confused over the above question so if someone could elaborate on what exactly a key is and what notes one is allowed to play while soloing over some chord progression)

Please let me know if my understanding is correct and complete............ if there are other explanatioins please include them.